I started this blog in the opening hours (days) of 2008 with one intention: To blog my path from ‘Australian-Living-in-Belgium-But-Really-Living-In-Italy‘ to ‘Australian-Living-In-Belgium-And-Sometimes-Holidaying-In-Italy -Or-Going-There-For-A-Meeting-Or-Something’.

Unfortunately though, my plans of personal transformation came unstuck, as I have already spent a half of what has already been 2008 working my way through dear Italia.

Alas.

I have worked on a few draft posts, most of which revolve around the ‘would-have-if-I-could-have‘ theme of the amazing things here in Belgium, such as:

  • Skiing: I went snowboarding! I was Bitchen
  • Stoofvlees met Frijes Frietjes: an amazingly Flemmish Flemish variation on a simple ‘Stew’
  • Belgian Beer of the Day: There is a bottleshop within vomiting distance of my apartment that sells 2001 Belgian Beers. It is currently my mission to consume every last bottle.
  • Road trips: Music required for, food required for, and methods to handle a 2000km road trip once a week
  • Live Gigs in Belgium: I saw Enon a few weeks ago, and was absolutely amazed at how different live shows are here in Belgium. The doors opened at 8, the band walked on at 8:30, and by 9:30 they’d finished and the venue was closed. There wasn’t even a bar in the venue – I saw a pseudo post-punk band in the LAND of beer, and didn’t even manage to have one. Madness.
  • Hitz o’ 2007: It’s already 3/24ths through the year and I haven’t uploaded my obligatory “I Listened to More Obscure Music Than You Last Year” post. Yee gads.

Maybe, just maybe, I’ll keep you informed. I’m going back to Italy tomorrow, so there’s a chance I won’t.

