Apparently the past week has been ‘Haiku week‘ here in Ghent, with the waterways of rivers lined with haikus in French, Dutch, English and German.

This morning I took my car in to get serviced, and despite my four years of trying to learn the ins and outs of Flemish couldn’t for the life of me understand what my dear mechanic was trying to say. To be fair I don’t really understand mechanics in my own language, so it may not be entirely fair to blame the man for his refusal to speak Standard Dutch*.

So, to commemorate Haiku Week and my babling mechanic, I present my first, and quite likely last, Ghent haiku:

The man from Ghent speaks,
Though I understand nothing.
Four years of Dutch, why?

Emotional. Epic. Haiku.

And now here it is in Dutch! Print it on your bubblejet and stick it on a shirt!

Het Gentenaar spreekt,
Maar ik heb niet begrepen.
Vier jaar les, waarom?

